The Phoenix

IMG_0625

When I made the quilled sign for our niece Francesca’s room her brother asked right away for one of his own.  I struggled trying to find an idea for a boy knowing that if the theme was too young it wouldn’t be long before he outgrew it.  He was turning eight at the time and was a big fan of wrestling and WWF, or is it WWE, I really don’t know…either way that was not in my wheelhouse of ability.

My husband mentioned a Phoenix and I have to be honest I had no idea what this fictional bird was.  After the little research that I did I found the following on Wikipedia…

In Greek mythology, a phoenix or phenix is a long-lived bird that is cyclically regenerated or reborn. Associated with the sun, a phoenix obtains new life by arising from the ashes of its predecessor. The phoenix was subsequently adopted as a symbol in Early Christianity. While the phoenix typically dies by fire in most versions of the legend, there are less popular versions of the myth in which the mythical bird dies and simply decomposes before being born again.  According to some legends, the phoenix could live over 1400 years before rebirth.

I planned to frame the design and wanted to be sure that everything was centered so I started the design by taping waxed paper to a board again and secured the pieces with pins and glue.  This was similar to how I did the letters for Francesca.

IMG_0616

Once the body was done I glued it to the canvas and started the wings.  In this picture the body and one wing was complete and I was lining up the second wing.

IMG_0620 - edited

Once I finished the phoenix I needed to figure how to incorporate Christian’s name.  Since the bird is said to have obtained a new life in the embers I thought it would be cool to incorporate his name in flames.  I created the outline of the letters in black and surrounded them in the flame.

IMG_0627 - edited IMG_0629 - edited

Leave a Reply

