Some Quilling Projects

It was Oct of 2012, nearly two months after our wedding. I had finished the quilled sign for my sisters classroom.  Hurricane Sandy hit us in Long Island.  We were very fortunate as the area we lived was not hit too hard.  There were plenty of downed trees and debris everywhere but nothing compares to the impact to the coastal communities.  The one thing that was affected was our cable and internet, it was out for days.  I don’t remember how long it was out but it actually felt like weeks…we are so spoiled and sheltered.  We were about 20 minutes into the discovery that it could be days before Cablevision was able to repair the line.  I picked up my quilling papers and started rolling.  Erik was looking for something to do so suggested he pull a deck of cards out and play solitaire.  That lasted approximately 15 minutes…it was going to be a long couple of days.  Eventually he pulled out some old DVD’s and we watched some movies.

Our niece’s 10th birthday was coming and her room was being redecorated – purple all around.  She is such a sweet kid – smart, talented and beautiful.  I wanted to come up with something that would suit her.  I had not practiced making letters yet so this was an experiment.  Since I had no internet I couldn’t watch any tutorials.  I decided to set up a board and tape waxed paper on it.  I curved, curled and shaped the paper, glueing along the way as I wrapped it around pins and secured them to the board.  Once each letter was dry I removed the pins and carefully pulled each letter from the wax paper.  Once I was done with the letters I glued them to the background of her sign,  I tried to create a faded look with the letters uses various shades of purple.  Once i was done i created a subtle design around the name and framed it for her.

IMG_0428 - Copy  2012-11-24_18-52-51_796 - Francecsa

Leave a Reply

