Monkey Cake

Ming Ming Cake

Our adorable nephew has a small stuffed monkey that is his very favorite stuffed animal.  As a baby he couldn’t actually say monkey so it came out as “Ming-Ming”.  With his little lisp and big brown eyes he could just melt your heart.  As a surprise for his birthday I made him a monkey cake and the moment he said it he gasped “MING-MING!!”  I don’t know if I was more proud of him being such a smart and sweet boy or me making a cake that a kid could recognize 🙂  I found the idea somewhere on the internet and decided to give it a whirl.  Practice makes perfect and in this case I didn’t have a lot of practice!  It was fun to create though.

IMG_0871

  • Ears are Entenmann’s chocolate donuts
  • Fur is crushed Oreo’s
  • Eye’s are Oreo cookies
  • Nostrils are peanut M&M’s
  • The rest is just cake and yummy frosting
  • Chocolate Twizzlers as hair on the top of his head

Two years later he requested the same cake…i made a couple of minor change.  This time I made some cake in a glass Pyrex bowl to create some dimension in his face.  What a bummer, I completely forgot about the Twizzlers this time.

Leave a Reply

